Rick Gomez, President of the AAUS
Rick Gomez, President of the AAUS

Gomez Is New AAUS President

Rick Gomez, Diving Safety Officer at the University of Miami, took up the position on 1st January 2016. He will serve two years in this role.

“Scientific diving at the University of Miami dates back to the early 1940’s, when our students ventured into the water wearing surface supplied hard helmets."

Jeff Bozanic by Rosemary E Lunn
Jeff Bozanic at the 2012 Long Beach Scuba Show

Bozanic Receives AAUS' Conrad Limbaugh Award

Limbaugh was one of the first to combine diving with research. Following his death in 1960 the AAUS (American Academy of Underwater Science) created the “Conrad Limbaugh Memorial Award for Scientific Diving Leadership”. This is presented on an annual basis to “an individual who has made a significant contribution to diving safety and leadership on behalf of the scientific diving community.”

The AAUS recently announced that this year's recipient is respected rebreather expert Dr Jeffrey Bozanic.